Erin’s Best of 2019

[Erin is a filmmaker living in Austin, TX with her dog named Horse.]

BOOK OF THE YEAR: Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain. 

A favorite book of my pal Amanda Chou, Kitchen Confidential by the late Anthony Bourdain does not disappoint. An honest and brutal take on the Northeast restaurant industry, Kitchen Confidential is jam packed with industry lingo, personal epic fails, and glowing memories of impactful culinary experiences. I have a huge respect for Bourdain, especially in his innovative take on food-themed documentary television. His recent passing moved me to consume a lot of media of his, including all of “Parts Unknown” on Netflix. My favorite episode was when he met up with former President Obama for noodles in Hanoi, Vietnam. 

Mourning+Anthony+Bourdain+in+Cape+town

Bourdain suffered from mental illness, as do a lot of respectable creators I know (including myself). His open-mindedness and challenging perspectives inspire me to jump outside my comfort zone and to also check my privilege as a third-person storyteller. Bourdain humbles us in the non-fiction scene, and I will continue to honor his work.

ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Red Hearse by Red Hearse

Whatever algorithm spirits are out there, y’all GET ME. The song “Half Love” popped up on my Spotify Discover one fateful Monday and I was hooked on the catchy, genre-bending rhythms (as well as the true-ass depressing lyrics that spoke RIGHT to my heart). Upon further investigation, I realized that Red Hearse’s entire Album is bop after bop after bop. 

Give it a listen!

TV SHOW OF THE YEAR: Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance

From the dark side of Jim Henson’s brain, “Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance” is a Netflix fantasy fiction series reboot from the 1982 film “Dark Crystal” featuring the race of Gelflings trying to regain autonomy of their world from tyrannical overlord colonizers the Skesis. There’s a lot of lore behind this but yo, it’s star studded and intensely worth it. If you’re a fan of fantasy fiction, practical effects, and the vocal talents of Taron Eagerton, Mark Hammill, Bernadette Peters, Awkwafina and more… give it a try!

HONORABLE MENTION: L Word Generation Q

The last time this show aired was in 2004 when we were ALL IN THE CLOSET. A friend of mine approached me and said that she loves how much I love this show. Honestly, as a queer person in the new decade, this show makes me feel SEEN. 

Every Sunday, I get together with a friend group who is equally committed to the L Word as I am and we watch (and scream at) the newest episode together. The character I identify most with is Finley, a big goober who has her own vernacular and not much of a filter. 

PERSONAL EVENTS OF THE YEAR: 

Africa: I went to Kenya for my pal’s wedding! We originally met during our academic adventures at Syracuse University and when he asked me to be a groomsman in his wedding in his hometown, of COURSE I said yes. My adventure buddy Matylda came with me and we explored Kenya and Tanzania vastly and safely thanks to the expertise of Justa, CEO of Curious on Tanzania. 

Screen Shot 2020-01-03 at 2.14.45 PM

Friends Film Festival: My team and I put on two Friends Film Festivals this year. The first one was during the Spring at a wine bar. It was really hot at the venue and we had to use loud industrial fans to cool the space.We used a friend’s projector to screen 15 films to 50 people on a tacked-up white sheet. It was a success! So much in fact that the festival was selected to be a featured event during Austin Design Week

It was a huge honor! And the turnout was IMPRESSIVE. We filled the Ausin Motion Media Arts center to the brim. We screened 10 films for over 100 people. There was free beer and ice cream, too! I’d love to do something like this again in 2020. This event showed me that people will show up for an idea executed well.

Screen Shot 2020-01-03 at 2.15.04 PM

That’s all I got! 2019 was pretty solid. My resolutions are: read more, bike more, and prioritize health. I hope y’all enjoyed this and happy new year! 

Love, 

Erin

Leave a comment